A Sister For Celia

Clark's Trip to China for Tessa

Adjusting to Her New Home; Monday night, November 16 November 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — asisterforcelia @ 3:00 am

Big Sister Celia, At Last!


Everyone is in bed, Clark having hit the jet-lag wall a few hours ago. He never slept last night, and Tessa was up a few times. We’re hoping that tonight she’ll sleep through the night or else up just once.

She naps in the morning and afternoon, and naps well. You can tell she’s ready for something (diaper change, food or nap) when the normally smiley, happy girl starts to fuss. She’ll go right to sleep for her nap as soon as she’s found her favorite blanket to keep at her cheek. This is much different (so far) from Celia’s napping routine, which was to fight it every inch of the way, and never fall asleep except upright, in the stroller. Clark put many miles on the stroller Celia’s first summer, morning and afternoon, trying to get her to nap. One rainy day I even resorted to pushing her in the stroller inside the house!

Tessa’s face literally lights up when she sees Clark or Celia. I’m hoping soon she’ll give me as many smiles as she gives them. I’m getting close, and it’s been just two days. She’s fascinated by the cats and wants to touch them, but just can’t bring herself to do it, yet.

Since she has such a bad cold and congestion, we took her to the doctor today, a week earlier than planned. Good news is her lungs are clear and she just needs time to get over this cold. No smiles for the doctor, but no tears for him, either. She’s gained 6 ounces since she was weighed in China: she’s now 15 lb. 10 oz. We also had to have blood drawn, which was a terrible thing. She wore herself out crying and fell asleep in the car on the way home.

She’s sitting up by herself better, even in the last few days, and I’ve had her on her tummy on the floor/blanket a lot. She doesn’t like it but will tolerate it for a bit. Celia rewards her with a new toy whenever she rolls herself over or pushes herself up with straight arms.

Back to Saturday, the day Clark & Tessa came home from China. Can you believe I could have missed meeting their flight? When Clark, Rob & Celia came home five years ago, it took them 2 hours from the time the flight landed to when they cleared customs and all. I didn’t want Celia getting bored waiting at the airport for hours, so I was thinking I’d get there about an hour after their flight landed. After hearing that my parents were planning to be at the airport much sooner than I was made me change my plans, quick get myself out of the house, pick up the pink balloons, and race to the airport. And a good thing, too–when I arrived one couple from our travel group was already out! I felt terrible, thinking I might have missed seeing them come out. Turns out I did have some time to spare, but still!!! Their flight also landed about 25 minutes early, too.

Good friends of ours who have also adopted a daughter from China came to share in the excitement at the airport, and brought another pink balloon for Tessa. In the end, Celia abandoned the balloons for her sister, and held her for the first time at the airport. Celia does pretty well carrying her, but really just short distances for now, and with supervision. She really is the best entertainer; Tessa can’t keep her eyes off Celia.

So this week I’m trying to stay at home as much as possible (just a few doctor appts) and let Tessa get to know me. If we don’t answer the phone, it just means that I’m on the floor playing with my sweet-cheeks baby! I’ve added some airport homecoming and some at-home pictures to the Flickr album, for those interested.

 

5 Responses to “Adjusting to Her New Home; Monday night, November 16”

  1. Marcia Says:

    I have the shivers. So exciting, so happy! On the floor playing? You deserve it Janet!! (And Clark deserves some sleep.)

    How nice to have a 5-year old ready and willing to help entertain and carry her…or push her around the house in the stroller if it comes to that!

    Extra love to you all.

  2. Ashley Says:

    Congratulations to all of you!! I love the new pictures, by the way, that smile is contagious 🙂

  3. Denise Says:

    The newest pictures are so very, very, very sweet! Tired papa and a very proud sister and mommy. Hope everyone gets over their jetlag quickly!!

  4. Jacquie Says:

    Loved the new pictures!! The love in each picture – priceless!!! Thank you for sharing. Tessa is so precious and cute! I told Aaron it makes me want to adopt another baby – he told me I was insane and to share in your joy instead 😉

  5. Gwen Says:

    Thanks so much for the new pictures. They are priceless and precious. Celia is not going to want to go to school anymore. Have fun getting to know each other!!

    I’m with Jacquie and ready for another 🙂


Leave a Reply

